2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar: FIFA Drops Plan for 48-Team

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

The Football Governing body of Football president Gianni Infantino announced last year ” We are currently playing with 32 national teams, we are going to increase of 48 teams set for the 2022 FIFA World Cup by involving neighboring countries. Today, FIFA Association has said we will not be expanded to 48 teams and will instead stick to 32 national football teams.

The team increase decision ensures that the first 48-team for the FIFA World Cup will be the ones awarded to the United States, Mexico, and Canada in 2026.

FIFA Drops Plan for 48-Team World Cup in 2022 in Qatar

According to the findings of the feasibility study approved by the FIFA Council in its last meeting, FIFA and Qatar have jointly identified all the possibilities to increase the number of participating teams from 32 to 48 teams by including neighboring countries in FIFA World Cup avatars 2022.

Football Government Association said in a documented statement.  “After an intensive and comprehensive consultation process with the involvement of all stakeholders, it was concluded that such a proposal cannot be made now in the current circumstances. ”

The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 will therefore remain as originally planned with all the 32 football teams and no proposal will be submitted to FIFA Congress on 5 June.

Continent Teams
Asia 4.5 (not including host nation)
Africa 5
North America, Central America, and the Caribbean 3.5
South America 4.5
Oceania 0.5
Host Nation Qatar

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup and it’s scheduled to take place in Qatar. It will be held on 18 December 2022 with 32 (from 5 or 6 confederations) teams in 8 or 12 (in 5 or 8 host cities) venue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *