1978 FIFA World Cup, Argentina

1978 FIFA World Cup, Argentina

 The 1978 FIFA World Cup was the 11th staging of the World Cup, the world championship for men’s national association football teams. This was held in Wast Argentina between 1 and 25 June (25 days).

London, England. Mexico and Argentina 4 Nationa were selected for the bidding process and Argentina was chosen as the host nation by FIFA on 6 July 1966. Argentina is a large South American nation. This is the eighth-largest country in the world. Football or soccer is the most popular sport.1978 FIFA World Cup, Argentina

The 1978 FIFA World Cup was won by Argentina who beat the Netherlands 3–1. Total of 16 teams qualified for this tournament. This tournament was the also last world cup to use the original inclusion of 16 teams. Mario Kempes was most successor player of the tournament.

Eight locations were preselected in 1972; six of them were chosen for the finals in addition to La Plata and Tucuman. The “one-of-a-kind stadium” that La Plata, the city of the diagonals, had pledged to build was abandoned by internal bidding by 1974. In 2003, the Estadio Ciudad de La Plata was lastly finished.

1978 FIFA World Cup, Argentina

1978 FIFA World Cup winning team Argentina
1978 FIFA World Cup winning team Argentina

In this tournament 16 teams (from 5 confederations) qualify and select in 6 venues and 5 host cities. The opening game between holders West Germany and Poland on 1st June Top scorer of the world cup was Mario Kempes with 6 goals. Antonio Cabrini was selected for best young Player. Argentina football teams have win Fair-play award.

Qualification Team for FIFA World 1978

Africa- 1 teams

Asia- 1 Teams
Europe- 10 Teams
North America, Central America, and the Caribbean- 1 Teams
South America- 3 Team

1978 FIFA World Cup Quick facts

Mario Alberto Kempes in 1978 FIFA World Cup
Mario Alberto Kempes in 1978 FIFA World Cup

It was the last world cup of FIFA when 16 teams qualify in the tournament(next to World Cup will be conducted in Spain and 24 teams participate in the tournament).

Argentina was the fifth team who won the World Cup(after Uruguay, Italy, England and West Germany).

Gauchito was the official Mascot. A boy wearing Argentina’s kit. his hat (with the words ARGENTINA ’78), neckerchief and whip are typical of gauchos.

Champions– Argentina
Runners-up–  Netherlands
Third place-  Brazil
Fourth place-  Italy

FIFA CUP 1978  
16 (from 5 confederations)
 Total Match dates 1–25 June (25 days)
Match Played 38
 Venues 6 (5 Host cities)
Automatically qualified  Argentina (host)and West Germany(the defending champion)

Qualification and Awards Of World Cup

Participating countries
Goals scored 102
Qualified 16 (from 5 confederations)
Official Mascots


Best young player Antonio Cabrini (Italian)
Adidas Golden Boot 
  • Rob Rensenbrink
  • Teófilo Cubillas
  • Mario Kempes

1974 FIFA world cup ball

 1978 FIFA world cup ball

1978 FIFA world cup Football

World Cup 1978 Stadiums

Buenos Aires

  • Estadio Monumental
  • Estadio Jose Amalfitani


  • Estadio Cordoba

Mar del Plata

  • Estadio José María Minella


  • Estadio Gigante de Arroyito


  • Estadio Ciudad de Mendoza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *