1990 FIFA World Cup, Mexico

1990 FIFA World Cup Mexico Italy

The 1990 FIFA World Cup was the 14th staging of the World Cup, the world championship for men’s national association football teams. This was held in Mexico from 8 June to 8 July 1990(30 Days).

The 1990 world cup, was the second country to host the event twice (the first being Mexico in 1986).  West Germany won the 1990 World cup championship and beat Argentina by a 1-0 score at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

Their Third title was by West Germany after winning the 1954 FIFA World Cup and 1974 FIFA World Cup. The 22 (from 5 confederations) teams taking part in the final competition will be divided into 6 groups of four teams.

1990 FIFA World Cup, Mexico

1990 FIFA World Cup, Mexico

In this tournament 22 teams (from 5 confederations) qualified and select in 12 (in 12 host cities) Venues in host Nation. Salvatore Schillaci was the top scorer of the world cup with 6 goals. Enzo Scifo was selected for the best young Player and Robert Prosinečki select for the Fair Play award. Salvatore Schillaci was named the player of the tournament.

Qualification Team for FIFA World 1990

  • Africa– 2 team (Egpyt, Cameroon)
  • Asia– 2 Teams (UAE, South Korea)
  • Europe– 9Teams (Austria, Belgium, Czechoslovakia, England, Italy, Netherlands, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Scotland, Sweden, West Germany, Yugoslavia )
  • North America, Central America, and the Caribbean– 2 Teams (United States, Costa Rica)
  • South America– 4 Team (Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Uruguay )

1990 FIFA World Cup Quick facts

  • The 1990 World Cup is widely regarded as one of the poorest World Cups(average 2.21 goals per game, a record low in World Cup history) in terms of the games.
  • One of the most-watched events in television history (26.69 billion non-unique viewers from all over the  world)
  • A record-high 16 red cards in the tournament history.
  • Champions– West Germany(3rd title)
  • Runners-up– Argentina
  • Third place- Italy
  • Fourth place- England
1990 World Cup Tournament info
Total Participating Teams 22 (from 5 confederations)
Dates 8 June – 8 July (30 days)
Match Played 52
Venues 12 (in 12 host cities)
Last Winner Argentina

Qualification and Awards of World Cup 1990

1990 World Cup Tournament statistics
Goals scored 115 (2.21 per match)
Adidas Golden Ball
  • Salvatore Schillaci
  • Lothar Herbert Matthäus
  • Diego Maradona
Adidas Golden Boot
  • Salvatore Schillaci
  • Tomáš Skuhravý
  • Albert Roger Miller
Best Young Player Robert Prosinečki
Fair Play Award England

1990 FIFA world cup Ball

1990 FIFA world cup Ball

The match ball for the 1990 Football World Cup or Coppa del Mondo FIFA Italia ’90, manufactured by Adidas & Ciao was the mascot for the 1990 FIFA World Cup.

Venues or Stadiums


  • San Siro (74,559)


  • Stadio Olimpico (73,603)


  • Stadio delle Alpi (62,628)


  • Stadio San Paolo (59,978)


  • Stadio San Nicola (51,426)


  • Stadio Comunale (38,971)


  • Stadio Marc’Antonio Bentegodi (35,950)


  • Stadio Friuli (35,713)


  • Stadio Sant’Elia (35,238)


  • Stadio Renato Dall’Ara (34,520)


  • Stadio La Favorita (33,288)


  • Stadio Luigi Ferraris (31,823)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *