1982 FIFA World Cup, Spain

1982 FIFA World Cup, Spain

The 1982 FIFA World Cup was the 12th staging of the World Cup, the world championship for men national association football teams. This was held in Spain from 13 June to 11 July 1982(29 Days).

In 1982 world cup know for the first penalty shoot-out in the world cup tournament. Italy was the won the 1982 World cup championship defeated West Germany by 3-1 score. In this tournament, Italy won the world cup 1974 third time in the final.

The 24 (from 6 confederations) teams taking part in the final competition will be divided into 6 groups of four teams.

1982 FIFA World Cup, Spain

1982 FIFA world cup

In this tournament 24 teams (from 6 confederations) qualify and select in 17 (in 14 host cities) Venues in host cities. Top scorer of the world cup was Grzegorz Lato with 7 goals. Władysław Żmuda was selected for best young Player and Peru select for Fair Play award. Pelé was named the player of the tournament.

Qualification Team for FIFA World 1982
Africa- 1 team
Asia- 1 Teams
Europe- 9Teams
North America, Central America, and the Caribbean- 1 Teams
South America- 4 Team

1982 FIFA World Cup Quick facts

World Cup 1982 Stadiums and cities hosted Venue

For the first time, FIFA expanded from 16 to 24 teams for the tournament(1978 FIFA world cup was played by 16 teams). Northern Ireland qualified for the first time since 1958.

FIFA was selected Spain for the host in London. Naranjito was official mascot for the world cup.

Champions– Italy (3rd title)
Runners-up–  West Germany
Third place-   Poland
Fourth place-  France

24 (from 6 confederations)
Total Match dates 13 June – 11 July (29 days)
Match Played 52
Venues 17 (in 14 host cities)
Best player and Top scorer player
Paolo Rossi (6 goals)

Qualification and Awards Of World Cup

Participating countries
Goals scored 146
Fair play award Team
Official Mascots


Best young player Manuel Amoros(france)
Adidas Golden Boot
  • Paolo Rassi(Italian )
  • Karl-Heinz Rummenigge(Germany)
  • Mario Kempes(Argentine )

1982 FIFA world cup Ball

Made in France match ball for FIFA World Cup 1982

The match ball for 1982 World Cup, manufactured by Adidas, was the Tango España.

World Cup 1982 Stadiums and cities hosted Venue


  • Camp Nou
  • Sarrià


  • Santiago Bernabéu
  • Vicente Calderón


  • Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán
  • Benito Villamarín


  • Martínez Valero


  • Luis Casanova


  • San Mamés


  • El Molinón


  • La Rosaleda


  • La Romareda

A Coruña

  • Riazor


  • Balaídos


  • José Rico Pérez


  • José Zorrilla


  • Carlos Tartiere

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *